Release Day Review: Midnight Bites by Rachel Caine

, by Kt Clapsadl

Midnight Bites by Rachel Caine
Morganville Series

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Caine presents a collection of stories—including six new tales—featuring the little Texas town that’s overrun by the undead.



By day, Morganville, Texas, is just a typical college town. By night, the vampires emerge and take control....

In a town where it’s not safe to be out after dark, student Claire Danvers and her friends have had their fair share of thrills. But Morganville still has a few secrets left to tell.

Now, in this collection, you can venture down the town’s strange streets, revisit all the tales you’ve come to love, and experience six new stories featuring your favorite Morganville residents—both human and vampire...

I really enjoyed MIDNIGHT BITES. It's been a while since this series closed, so reading this book was almost like returning home to some of my favorite characters. There's a good mix of new content in between the previously released stories. I hadn't read any of the previously released parts, so this anthology was entirely new content for me, making me enjoy it even more.

There's a great mix of stories in this anthology, from things that last a few pages, to ones that are a bit longer that let you get more immersed. A lot of times in anthologies I do get frustrated with the brevity of the stories, but that wasn't the case here. Despite there being so many different short stories packed into this book, I didn't get frustrated with that lack of depth. I think it had a lot to do with how the entire thing was set up chronologically, making it all flow well, and tie in together. Some of the stories themselves hinted at things that were then tied back to in later stories, so it was really enjoyable. There's a good mix of perspectives, something for every character fan.

There's one downside to this enjoyable anthology and that's that it has left wanting more from Morganville again. I had said my bittersweet goodbyes at the release of the final book, and I feel like this book has only reopened things back up. I want, would almost say need, more from this world. There's so much room and potential for more and considering just how many books and stories have been released in this world, that's saying something. That being said, despite wanting more, MIDNIGHT BITES is a very satisfying absolute must read for Morganville fans. As they say, you never really leave Morganville, and that's only been proven here with this fantastic anthology. Here's to hoping Rachel Caine returns again and again to this world in the future.

(Received a copy from the publisher)


Order Links:

Other Reviews:
     Library Lindsey

Previous Books:
     1. Glass Houses
     2. Dead Girls Dance
     3. Midnight Alley
     4. Feast of Fools
     5. Lord of Misrule
     6. Carpe Corpus
     7. Fade Out
     8. Kiss of Death
     9. Ghost Town
     10. Bite Club 
     11. Last Breath  
     12. Black Dawn
     13. Bitter Blood
     14. Fall of Night
     15. Daylighters

Amazon Reviews Subscribe to RSS Facebook Friend me on Goodreads Email me