Kirsten Reviews: Midnight Bites by Rachel Caine

, by Kt Clapsadl

Midnight Bites by Rachel Caine
Morganville Series

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Caine presents a collection of stories—including six new tales—featuring the little Texas town that’s overrun by the undead.



By day, Morganville, Texas, is just a typical college town. By night, the vampires emerge and take control....

In a town where it’s not safe to be out after dark, student Claire Danvers and her friends have had their fair share of thrills. But Morganville still has a few secrets left to tell.

Now, in this collection, you can venture down the town’s strange streets, revisit all the tales you’ve come to love, and experience six new stories featuring your favorite Morganville residents—both human and vampire...

Midnight Bites by Rachel Caine is a collection of 22 short stories that revisit the characters of the Morganville Vampires series. This should be of interest to anyone reading the series for the first time as well as readers new to the books and its world. There are new stories and some that were previously published, and gathered together they fill in many of the blanks and “behind the scenes” moments in the lives of various characters. As a whole the series covered a lot of ground, but this collection definitely proves that there are still adventures to be with these characters, and readers will likely want even more stories after finishing it.

A few of the stories are summarized below.


Concerns Shane’s sister Alyssa, and is the story of how she died from Shane’s point of view, expanding on what readers already know and the reasons for both his guilt and anger.

Wrong Place, Wrong Time

This short story is told from the point of view of Richard Morrell. Monica is involved in an attempted robbery, and justice falls on the perpetrators swiftly and without mercy.

Nothing Like an Angel

The history between Myrnin and Lady Grey is explore, beginning from her rescuing him from a dungeon prison and then nursing him back to health. It’s a nice look at their relationship and how it’s lasted this long.

Again, this collection is a good way to revisit the series, or for someone who wants a bit more background on the characters, but it doesn’t stand as well alone without having previously read some, if not all of the Morganville Vampires books.
(Received a copy from the publisher)


Order Links:

Other Reviews:
     Library Lindsey
     YA Reads
     Much Loved Books

Previous Books:
     1. Glass Houses
     2. Dead Girls Dance
     3. Midnight Alley
     4. Feast of Fools
     5. Lord of Misrule
     6. Carpe Corpus
     7. Fade Out
     8. Kiss of Death
     9. Ghost Town
     10. Bite Club 
     11. Last Breath  
     12. Black Dawn
     13. Bitter Blood
     14. Fall of Night
     15. Daylighters
     Novella Collection: Midnight Bites (Katie's Review)

Amazon Reviews Subscribe to RSS Facebook Friend me on Goodreads Email me