Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

, by Kt Clapsadl

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan
Uninvited #1

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

What would you do if you were told you have the kill gene, and everything you have ever worked for in life is suddenly gone? Well that's exactly what happened to Davy. She goes from having it all, to losing everything. To say it was a rough transition would be an understatement. It was both horrifying and enthralling to watch as her life changed and each new situation only got worse. But what truly made the book was Davy's progression. At the start, even after getting the news of her kill gene status, she's rather naieve and judgemental. It takes a while but slowly as the book went on her perceptions changed, and I loved seeing her grow. Sure she's pretty weak at times, but with the life she had, she never had a reason to be tough. But little by little she started gaining a more solid backbone, and I only loved her more for it. She's still got a long way to go, but I cannot wait until the next installement to see how things play out.

Can I just say that I absolutely loved the progression of the romance in UNINVITED. It's slow building, but still has all that delicious tension that I love. In fact, the slow building probably was one of the best things about the book as I felt it was very important as Davy's life has been turned completely upside down, and it wouldn't have made sense for her to have fallen completely head over heels for the bad boy. On the reverse side, while Sean is pretty darn protective from the start, he's not really quick to jump into anything either as his life has been anything but easy. That being said, as things built, I was definitely swooning and it made for a very enjoyable read.

I have to admit that I was both extremely excited yet more than a little bit nervous to read UNINVITED. I mean that blurb just sucked me right in and sounded like something exactly up my alley. But with all great blurbs comes the worry that the actual book won't quite live up to my high expectations. Luckily in this case, the book is every bit as good as the blurb makes it out to be. It's such a powerful premise that just completely swept me right off my feet from the start. I mean the idea that simply having a certain gene will cost you your freedom is absolutely horrifying, and this book gives what I would guess to be a pretty darn realistic outlook of exactly what could happen. UNINVITED is an enthralling and addictive read that is perfect for dystopian fans looking to be swept up in a really great book. It simply will not disappoint.

(Received a copy from the publisher via Edelweiss)

Rating:






Order Links:



Other Reviews:
     Bewitched Bookworms
     The Nocturnal Library
     Dark Faerie Tales

1 comment:

  1. Did you know you can shorten your long urls with AdFly and get money for every visitor to your short urls.

    ReplyDelete

Amazon Reviews Add me to Google Plus Subscribe to RSS Facebook Friend me on Goodreads Email me Follow me on Twitter Follow me on Twitter Follow me on Twitter